LCMF 2022

17 June: Ruined and Exhausted
Fireworks Factory

Debit at LCMF 2022. Image: Dawid Laskowski

Triad God
Triad God’s Coda (2022)
(world premiere) (LCMF commission)

Rebecca Saunders
dust II (2018/2020)
(UK premiere)


Caspar Heinemann
Selected poems

Rachel Rose
Sitting Feeding Sleeping (2013)

Clara Iannotta
Eclipse Plumage (2019)
(UK premiere)

Crystabel Riley

Arvo Pärt
My Heart’s in the Highlands (2000)

Caspar Heinemann
Christian Dierstein
percussion (Saunders)
Crystabel Riley
Delia Beatriz
Dirk Rothbrust percussion (Saunders)
Explore Ensemble (Iannotta)
Mimi Doulton voice (Pärt)
Siwan Rhys organ (Pärt)
Triad God

I shot Sitting Feeding Sleeping in a cryogenics lab, where nitrogen-pumped bodies circulate their own blood. In a robotics perception lab, where machines read human emotion. And in zoos, where animals live extended lives emptied of sexual, social, survival cues. I used these three spaces as prosthetics for understanding deathfullness­­ — being alive, feeling dead.
Rachel Rose,

‘Being alive, feeling dead’ is where we start and end: beginning with a new requiem by improviser Crystabel Riley and finishing with a unique new commission from elusive rap icon Triad God, who will present for the first time ever Triad God’s Coda at LCMF, developing their hypnotic spaced-out aesthetics, a kind of sonic materialisation of the liminal space, of the architecture of ‘being alive, feeling dead’. 

Between these bookends we examine the cracked architecture of the present in poetry, film and sound. Percussionists Christian Dierstein and Dirk Rothbrust and Explore Ensemble will deliver the UK premieres of two musical takes on brokenness, dust ii and Eclipse Plumage, from composers Rebecca Saunders and Clara Iannotta, both of which deploy a vast array of percussion, as well as, in Iannotta’s, objects, electronics and the ‘Antimachine’, an instrument created by Iannotta that uses magnetic fields to coax sound from piano strings.

We present the addictive splintered video work of Rachel Rose in Sitting Feeding Sleeping. Then a slice of what Maria Sledmere has called ‘anthropocene camp’, poet and artist Caspar Heinemann presenting a selection of their works, ‘meme poetics wired up to the trembling motherboard of lyric’ (Sledmere, Spamzine).

Cutting through all this is a cool breeze from Arvo Pärt and Robert Burns in My Heart’s in the Highlands, in which a sleepwalking voice and organ, performed by Mimi Doulton and Siwan Rhys, evaporates the poem.

To end we eavesdrop on the ancient Mayans. In her UK debut, Debit will present a live version of The Long Count, her woozy AI transfigurations of Mayan wind instruments, otherworldly laments that Philip Sherburne described as being ‘like an overture to the dead’ (Pitchfork).