Henry Cowell The Banshee (1925)
John Cage First Construction (in Metal) (1939)
Morton Subotnick / Tony Martin PLAY! No. 3 (1965) (UK premiere)
Terry Riley Keyboard Study No. 2 (1965)
Maggi Payne Flights of Fancy (1985)
Carl Stone Wall Me Do (1987)
John Luther Adams Among Red Mountains (2001)
Catherine Lamb Frames (2009/13) (UK premiere)
Otis O'Solomon Selected poems
Pauline Oliveros Pauline's Solo (1992)
Morton Subotnick Solo Buchla set

PERC'M (Cage)
Yung Yee Chen piano (Riley)
Eugene Feygelson piano (Riley)
Zubin Kanga piano (Riley)
Anton Lukoszevieze cello (Lamb)
Lucia Mense bass recorder (Lamb)
Emiko Miura piano (Riley)
Pauline Oliveros v-accordion
Otis O'Solomon
Gwen Rouger piano (Cowell, Adams)
Morton Subotnick electronics

The second night of LCMF 2015 is dedicated to the music of the American West Coast, an exploration of 100 years of musical nonconformism, from the piano insurrections of Henry Cowell to the deep listening of Pauline Oliveros.

Oliveros is joined by another founding legend of the pioneering San Francisco Tape Music Center, Morton Subotnick, who presents a solo Buchla set and the UK premiere of a 1960s Tape Center composition with a film by Tony Martin. Another composer associated with the Tape Center was Terry Riley, whose Keyboard Study No. 2 gets a rare outing.

Alongside this we zig-zag through the experimental landscape, calling on John Cage's concussive First Construction (in Metal), which premiered in Seattle in 1939, John Luther Adams's monumental Among Red Mountains and Catherine Lamb's subterranean Frames.

We excavate two gems from California's 1980s computer music scene, Maggi Payne's Flights of Fancy and Carl Stone's Wall Me Do. On the fiftieth anniversary of the Watts Uprising we present an extremely rare performance from Otis O’Solomon, whose collective The Watts Prophets emerged from the rubble of that uprising and helped lay the foundations for hip-hop.

3 Pauline Oliveros
2 Morton Subotnick
4 The Watts Prophets