Domenico Scarlatti Keyboard Sonata in F minor, K519
Domenico Scarlatti Keyboard Sonata in E major, K380
Salvatore Sciarrino String Quartet No 9 (2012) (UK premiere)
Salvatore Sciarrino Esercizi di tre stili (after Domenico Scarlatti) (1999):
I Allegro K443
III Adagio e cantabile K208
VI Allegro K350


Domenico Scarlatti Keyboard Sonata in A Minor, K265
Salvatore Sciarrino Piano Sonata No 5 (1994)
Domenico Scarlatti Keyboard Sonata in C major, K159
Salvatore Sciarrino String Quartet No 7 (1999) (UK premiere)
Michelangelo Pistoletto Ten Less One (2009) (UK premiere)

Mark Knoop piano
Quartetto Prometeo:
Giulio Rovighi violin
Aldo Campagnari violin
Massimo Piva viola
Francesco Dillon cello

In our final event we profile three Italians whose fixation with colour is by turns delicate, explosive and cataclysmic.

Domenico Scarlatti's 555 keyboard sonatas are an astonishing set of compositions that shimmer with light and movement. Five will tumble forth in their original versions courtesy of piano virtuoso Mark Knoop. Three will be heard in a less familiar form, arranged for string quartet by Salvatore Sciarrino.

250 years after Scarlatti, the fascination for colour takes an unpredictable turn in the music of Sciarrino. In his quartets and sonatas, we find ourselves in a world of splintering, refracting patterns, never sure where the prism will next cast its light. Tonight, the Quartetto Prometeo (pictured above) will give the UK premiere of the seventh and ninth string quartets.

Michelangelo Pistoletto will end the night in spectacular fashion by drawing our attention to a object that has been of central concern to his practice for half a century: the mirror. In this UK premiere of his performance piece Ten Less One, we will witness light become colour in an irreversible act of spectral change, as we take a hammer to the glass.

Lead photo credits:
1: Aaron Holloway-Nahum
2 & 3: Tom Cawley